David Lagercrantz

David Lagercrantz (born 1962) is a Swedish journalist and best-selling author, internationally known as the author of I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic and The Girl in the Spider’s Web, the fourth installment in the Millenium series originated by Stieg Larsson. He is a board member of Swedish PEN.

Lagercrantz made his debut with a book about the Swedish adventurer Göran Kropp’s conquering of Mount Everest. The novel Syndafall i Wilmslow (Fall of Man in Wilmslow) about the prominent British mathematician Alan Turing was published in 2009. The response was consistently positive and the book has since been been translated into 20 languages.

In 2005, Himmel över Everest (Heaven over Everest)  was released: a fictive narrative of the catastrophe on Mount Everest in 1996 where twelve people died.

In November 2011, David Lagercrantz’s best-selling sports biography I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic was published, with Lagercrantz as credited ghost writer. The Swedish language edition sold over 500,000 copies in six days making it the fastest selling book of all time in Sweden. The biography has today been translated to more than 30 languages.  I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic received much attention as it contributed to an increased readership amongst boys and young men. It was nominated for The August Prize in 2012 and The William Hill Sports Book of the Year in 2013. In Financial Times, Simon Kuper called the biography “The best footballer’s autobiography of recent years”.

In December 2013, Hedlund Literary Agency announced together with the Swedish publishing company Norstedts that Lagercrantz had been contracted to write the fourth novel in the Millennium series of crime novels, originally by Stieg Larsson (1954–2004). The novel was published on August 27, 2015 and was launched in 27 countries at the same time. It received consistent positive reviews, reached international sales records and landed on the best selling lists all over the world. The novel was designated as one of the year’s best thrillers in 2014 by the magazine Esquire, and nominated to the 2016 Petrona Award in the category of Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year in 2016. The movie rights are held by Sony.


2012 Nominated to The August Prize for I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic

2013 Short-listed to The William Hill Sport Book of the Year for I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic 

2015 Designated as one of the year’s best thrillers in 2015 by the magazine Esquire for The Girl in the Spider’s Web.

2016 nominated to Petrona Award in the category of Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year


“Lagercrantz demonstrates an instinctive feel for the world Larsson created and for his two unconventional gumshoes.”.

NY Times

“Lagercrantz has caught her [Salander] superbly, and expertly spun the sort of melodramatic yarn in which she can thrive.”

The Telegraph

“Without ever becoming pastiche, the book is a respectful and affectionate homage to the originals.”

The Guardian



Facebook: Lagercrantz


Magdalena Hedlund
Phone: +46 70-669 05 68


Millennium 5 on The New York Times Bestseller list

21 September 2017

David Lagercrantz is currently on a long tour for the release of the fifth instalment in the Millennium series, The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye. We just learnt that the book will be on second place on the New York Times Bestseller list next week - after only one week on the shelves. And we won't stop at that - the reviews keep coming in from all...


Entertainment Weekly reveals US cover and title of Millennium 5

12 April 2017

Entertainment Weekly: Where did you get the idea for The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye?  DAVID LAGERCRANTZ: You could say that it started with a question: Everybody knows that Lisbeth has a massive dragon tattooed on her back, but no one knows why. No explanation is to be found in the previous books to why she got that particular tattoo. I started to feel the need to answer that riddle because it broadens and deepens the...


Millennium 5: The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye ready to be released

17 February 2017

David Lagercrantz’s second book in the Millennium-series, with the Swedish title Mannen som jagade sin skugga, is ready to be published. In this book the main character Lisbeth Salander is imprisoned in a harsh women’s jail when she gets new information about her past. This autumn, on September 7th, ”The Man who Chased his Shadow” (Swedish title) will be released around the world.


German media praise Lagercrantz’ Turing-novel

18 February 2016

With "Fall Of Man In Wilmslow" (which appeared in 2009) David Lagercrantz achieved a breakthrough as a novelist. The book was published in Germany in mid-January 2016 and German-speaking media are full of praise. Here below just one example (from the WDR - Westdeutsche Rundfunk): "Already with this novel Lagercrantz demonstrates what a brilliant author he is. The atmosphere of the 1950s is sensitively rendered. His characters have depth and...


David Lagercrantz continues the Millennium series

13 December 2015

In December 2013, Hedlund Literary Agency announced together with the Swedish publishing company Norstedts that Lagercrantz had been contracted ...