Born in 1972, Sara Stridsberg is a writer and playwright. Her first novel Happy Sally was published in 2004, and her break-through came two years later with the publication of The Faculty of Dreams, her second novel. With her novel, Beckomberga – Ode till min familj, published in 2014, she was short-listed to the prestigious August Prize for the fourth time. In 2016, she became the youngest member of the Swedish Academy and only the 10th woman ever to be elected.  In 2018, she resigned from the Academy. Sara Stridsberg lives in Stockholm.



2019 Long listed for the Man Booker International Prize

2018 Moa Martinsson Prize

2017 Prix Femina

2016 Selma Lagerlöf Literary Prize

2015 The Aniara Prize

2015 De Nios Vinter Prize

2015 The European Prize of Literature

2015 The Berns Prize

2013 The Dobloug Prize

2011 De Nios Vinter Prize

2010 Tidningen Vi:s Literature Prize

2007 The Nordic Council Literature Prize

2006 Aftonbladets Literature Prize


Magdalena Hedlund
Phone: +46 70-669 05 68


EXTRA: Sara Stridsberg is nominated for the 2019 Man Booker international prize!

13 March 2019

We are extremely proud to announce that Sara Stridsberg’s The Faculty of Dreams is one of 13 titles on the long list for the 2019 Man Booker international prize. The book will be published in the UK by MacLehose press on the 18th of April. The prize winner will be announced on the 21th of May. Click here for the full list


Stridsberg & Bannerhed on the Dagens Nyheter Critics’ list

24 September 2018

For the second consecutive week, both Sara Stridsberg's Antarctica of Love (Albert Bonniers förlag) and Tomas Bannerhed's The Yearning (Weyler förlag) are on the prestigious Dagens Nyheter Critics' list. Both books has also received fantastic reviews. Click here to read reviews of The Yearning Click here to read reviews of Antarctica of Love


Sara Stridsberg receives the Selma Lagerlöf Prize

12 May 2016

Sara Stridsberg is the recipient of the 2016 Selma Lagerlöf Literary Award. The jury cites Stridsberg’s “intense and beautifully crafted storytelling, which celebrates the frailty of life and discerningly vindicates the subjugated and silenced”. ...


Sara Stridsberg awarded “De Nios Pris”

21 May 2015

Congratulations, Sara Stridsberg! Sara Stridsberg has been awarded the prestigious Swedish literary prize "De Nios Pris".   The motivation reads as follows: "...for a work characterized by dreamy lucidity, intense presence and empathy with the less fortunate."   The prize money amounts to 300 000 SEK.