Elisabeth Åsbrink is a writer and  journalist, based in Stockholm and Copenhagen.

She has been nominated for the August Prize three times and did win it for best non-fiction book 2011 for And in Wienerwald the trees are still standing. For the same book she was awarded the prestigious Ryszard Kapuściński Award for Literary Reportage in 2013, with the following motivation:

”Through an intimate story about a Jewish boy trying to escape extermination and looking for shelter in Sweden, Elisabeth Åsbrink tells a universal story. Story of people who, while convinced of their own virtue and responsibility, may contribute to a crime. By bringing back Europe’s very recent and very ignominious past, the author awakens readers’ sensitivity to a drama taking place before our very eyes; the drama of refugees in contemporary world.”

1947 is her third book and it was published simultaneously in Sweden, Denmark and Norway in the autumn of 2016.



2010 Jarl Alfredius minnesstipendium

2013 The August Prize for best Non fiction

2013 Dansk-svensk Kulturfonds kulturpris

2013 Ryszard Kapuściński Award for Literary Reportage

2016 Letterstedtska författarpriset



Facebook: Elisabeth Åsbrink



Magdalena Hedlund
Phone: +46 70-669 05 68


The Letterstedt Author prize for Elisabeth Åsbrink!

20 April 2017

We are proud to welcome author and journalist Elisabeth Åsbrink to our agency and at the same time congratulate her to The Letterstedt Author prize (Letterstedska författarpriset) that she has been awarded by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for her book 1947. Where now begins. Congratulations, Elisabeth! More to come...       Photo: Eva Tedesjö