Magdalena Hedlund
+46 70-669 05 68

Elisabeth Åsbrink

Elisabeth Åsbrink is a writer and  journalist and President of Swedish PEN, based in Stockholm and Copenhagen.
She has been nominated for the August Prize three times and did win it for best non-fiction book 2011 for And in Wienerwald the trees are still standing. For the same book she was awarded the prestigious Ryszard Kapuściński Award for Literary Reportage in 2013, with the following motivation:

”Through an intimate story about a Jewish boy trying to escape extermination and looking for shelter in Sweden, Elisabeth Åsbrink tells a universal story. Story of people who, while convinced of their own virtue and responsibility, may contribute to a crime. By bringing back Europe’s very recent and very ignominious past, the author awakens readers’ sensitivity to a drama taking place before our very eyes; the drama of refugees in contemporary world.”

1947 is her third book and it was published simultaneously in Sweden, Denmark and Norway in the autumn of 2016 with many more countries following in 2017 and 2018. The rave reviews speaks of a “powerful and enormously moving new book”, “a gripping history” and that “Elisabeth Åsbrink writes sentences that make one gasp in admiration.”


2010 Jarl Alfredius minnesstipendium
2013 The August Prize for best Non fiction
2013 Dansk-svensk Kulturfonds kulturpris
2013 Ryszard Kapuściński Award for Literary Reportage
2016 Letterstedtska författarpriset
2017 Freedom Pen Prize (Torgny Segerstedt Foundation)


Facebook: Elisabeth Åsbrink

Published books


08 okt 2019

“Top-notch microcosmic World War II history and an excellent illustration of the immense power of the written word.”

Elisabeth Åsbrink´s And in The Vienna Woods The Trees Remains (soon to be released in the US by Other Press) gets beautiful review in Kirkus! Read more

27 sep 2019

Made in Sweden to Finland

Rights sold to Siltala

16 maj 2019

Read Elisabeth Åsbrink in The Guardian:

"The Swedish dream was always too good to be true. And now the far right is back!" Elisabeth Åsbrink

06 dec 2018

1947 chosen as one of the best books of 2018

Elisabeth Åsbrink's 1947, Where now begins has been chosen as one of the best books of the year 2018 by American NPR (National Public Radio). From Nancy Pearls review: "It's just one of those books that makes you want to major in history. It is one of the best books,...

05 apr 2018

Rave reviews for US edition of 1947

We are receiving the most wonderful reviews for the US edition of Elisabeth Åsbrink's 1947. Where now begins. How about the following quotes: “The Swedish journalist Åsbrink’s “1947” is an extraordinary achievement. [...] Åsbrink is throughout attentive to the complex dynamic produced by the Holocaust’s multiple aftermaths, the urgently necessary and...

14 dec 2017

1947 – best non-fiction of 2017!

Elisabeth Åsbrink's 1947 has been picked as one of the best non-fiction titles published in the UK in 2017 by daily newspaper Metro. Anthony Cummins writes: "From Sweden comes this globe-trotting factual narrative tracing the poisonous fallout from World War II with novelistic flair. With a reporter’s nose for detail...

02 nov 2017

2017 Freedom Pen to Elisabeth Åsbrink

Elisabeth Åsbrink has been awarded the 2017 Freedom Pen Prize by the Torgny Segerstedt Foundation. Since its establishment in 1996, the Torgny Segerstedt Foundation has annually awarded The Freedom Pen to a communicator working in the spirit of Torgny Segerstedt. Earlier recipients of the prize include Astrid Lindgren, Eva Moberg...

20 apr 2017

The Letterstedt Author prize for Elisabeth Åsbrink!

We are proud to welcome author and journalist Elisabeth Åsbrink to our agency and at the same time congratulate her to The Letterstedt Author prize (Letterstedska författarpriset) that she has been awarded by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for her book 1947. Where now begins. Congratulations, Elisabeth! More to...