Gertrud

ORIGINAL TITLE: Gertrud

NUMBER OF PAGES: 279

AUTHOR: Moa Gammel Ginsburg

ORIGINAL PUBLISHER: Piratförlaget

GENRE: Current Books, Fiction

Gertrud’s husband is chasing Hollywood success. His friends and their wives are making appearances at the golf club, yelling at assistants, drinking someone else’s champagne, smiling brightly at housekeepers and big-shots. Gertrud is simply there. Almost habitual, she sees herself through the eyes of others. Her marriage is torn by previous trauma when she meets Erwin. She likes how she sees herself through his lens. And suddenly, she is no longer the passive muse. She is a whirlwind – or is she really something swept up by his tornado? Just like she, years before, was swept up by the famous author, the master of auto-biographical novels?

It’s the American dream: shining, glistening, filthy. It’s a tale of passion, destruction and power. Moa Gammel Ginsburg’s debut novel is the ultimate elevated page-turner, inspired by Hjalmar Söderberg’s 1907 play with the same name, for readers who loved Normal People, My Dark Vanessa and Blonde.

Endorsements

OPEN

"When I received the manuscript for Gertrud I was immediately struck by the presence and tension in Moa Gammel Ginsburg’s writing. As a reader, you are drawn into a novel filled with nuances and complex relationships. To the men in the book, Gertrud is a muse and a decorative object but all she wants is to be acknowledged as a person in her own right. The destiny of Gertrud is truly a remarkable story about power and passion. It’s also a story that will stay with you for a long, long time."

Sofia Brattselius Thunfors
Publisher

News